Product Reviews

Door Chime Kit Brass Bell Push

Door Chime Kit Brass Bell Push
Average Customer Rating:
3.417 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
8 of 12(67%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Byron Wall-Mounted Door Chime Kit Brass Bell Push
Review 1 for Byron Wall-Mounted Door Chime Kit Brass Bell Push
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top notch
29 May 2015
By HollIe
, Bedford
" Dead easy to fit (instructions on line) took me 10 minutes max. Looks good, sounds good, good price + good counter service from Screwfix, what more could you ask for? "
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Byron Wall-Mounted Door Chime Kit Brass Bell Push
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mr Jay
12 Mar 2015
By mrjaymrjay
, London
" been in the game over 30 years . it is what it is and does what it says on the box a good and reliable product easy to instal . best value for money and delivered as promised. first time using online ordering from Screwfix as i prefer to go in store and pick up products so I can make sure nothing is missing from the order or damaged. how ever it was such a good experience that i have ordered again. this save me time and I can spend more time on my jobs with my clients.
Thank you screw fix as time is money £££ "
Review 3 for Byron Wall-Mounted Door Chime Kit Brass Bell Push
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice Loud door Chime
14 Jul 2015
By CCSHandyman
, Uckfield
" Overall pleased with the product seems well made.
Door bell nice cast brass not plastic.
Door chime also nice and loud which pleased the customer.
No transformer included. Could have had one of the full kits but felt this one was better quality so had to get transformer from elsewhere as screwfix don't stock them which is a shame.
Only downside was no instructions in the box did not think to check Screwfix first as it would have saved me a lot of wasted time.
However once I had them it all worked a treat. "
Review 4 for Byron Wall-Mounted Door Chime Kit Brass Bell Push
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gosh!
24 Apr 2015
By AlliBee
, East London
" I bought the model because of its price and I wasn't disappointed. Once I found the right instructions online it was a breeze to fit and I really haven't done much electrics before at all. So I'd say great for a novice. The bell push is fiddely to fit but ultimately it did as it was told. - The ding noise rattled a bit as it was loose but a little cotton wool stopped that. "
Review 5 for Byron Wall-Mounted Door Chime Kit Brass Bell Push
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Door chimes
29 Jan 2015
By oddjob48
, scottish borders
" Ok, but you need a computer to download instructions with wiring diagram. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Byron Wall-Mounted Door Chime Kit Brass Bell Push
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Neat excellent unit
28 Oct 2014
By Theoddjobman
, Wirral
" Bought as a replacement for a similar, 'paint splattered' door chime. Neat box ,great value, simple to install and "does what it says on the box" "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Byron Wall-Mounted Door Chime Kit Brass Bell Push
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Product
30 Sep 2014
By Piskie
, Beds
" Had loads of problems with wireless so decided to go back to wired. Simple to install with either batteries or transformer. Used instruction manual link on product description. Clear and easy to understand.
No issues with the screws but wasn't mounting on hardwood. Perhaps someone has read the previous reviews and improved the quality? "
Review 8 for Byron Wall-Mounted Door Chime Kit Brass Bell Push
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Product
10 Dec 2013
By londonboy
, hatfield
" Having given up on a wireless solution due to connection issues and hearing all the other problems people have with wireless, I opted for a traditional ding dong doorbell. Its installed and is fine and just loud enough for the house (4 bed)
Screws supplied with the unit are woefully poorly made-very soft diecast material. Be careful with the bell push back plate too as its a brittle plastic.No instructions (!!) and works off 4 C cell batteries which seems excessive with todays technology advances.
But hey its was 12 quid and does the job.
4 stars cos they were tight with the screw quality which is totally unnecessary
Happy days.. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Byron Wall-Mounted Door Chime Kit Brass Bell Push
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Incorrect Instruction Manual
2 Oct 2013
By Creb
, Gloucester
" The manual listed for this product is wrong, it is for an LAP door chime and not the Byron.
That being said, the correct connections for he battery powered chime to function are terminals 1 and 2. This information was gained through trail and error and frustration. The screws that come with the product are of very low quality. If you are screwing into a hard wood door you must drill a pilot first or the screw head will just twist off. My suggestion is to get a decent set of screws and use them instead. I used the turbo gold screws and they went into even my hard wood door very easily and without a pilot being drilled.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Byron Wall-Mounted Door Chime Kit Brass Bell Push
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not fit for purpose
3 Sep 2015
By CAPTAIN2
, Folkestone
" I bought this took it home and it worked once and then did not operate. Obtained a like for like replacement- exactly the same again. Batteries keep wanting to pop out - ringer spring comes out and does not go back. A complete waste of time.
Do not buy this product if you want it to work reliably.
"
Review 11 for Byron Wall-Mounted Door Chime Kit Brass Bell Push
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would not work
4 Jun 2015
By RJB0209
, Stoke-on-Trent
" Fitted bell would not work properly, would only ding not dong, took it back and replaced it with Byron 1217 which works brilliantly "
Review 12 for Byron Wall-Mounted Door Chime Kit Brass Bell Push
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Totally useless
23 Nov 2014
By Skyguy
, Wiltshire
" Didn't work at all. No instructions either. Wasted my time. "