Product Reviews

2.5Ltr. Ronseal's hardest ever floor varnish, provides wooden floors with the the ultimate protection. Ideal for areas of heavy foot traffic, a tough, clear non-yellowing gloss finish giving superb protection from scuffs, scratches and household chemicals. Touch dry in 30 minutes, recoat in only 2 hours and the room back in use in less than a day. Covers approx 16m²/Ltr.

2.5Ltr. Ronseal's hardest ever floor varnish, provides wooden floors with the the ultimate protection. Ideal for areas of heavy foot traffic, a tough, clear non-yellowing gloss finish giving superb protection from scuffs, scratches and household chemicals. Touch dry in 30 minutes, recoat in only 2 hours and the room back in use in less than a day. Covers approx 16m²/Ltr.
Average Customer Rating:
3.182 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
6 of 11(55%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Ronseal Diamond Hard Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Review 1 for Ronseal Diamond Hard Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
floor varnish
25 Oct 2013
By glocky
, Isle of Skye
"a very good floor varnish. fast drying, easy coating,"
Review 2 for Ronseal Diamond Hard Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality Varnish
9 Jul 2013
By 2ndRegPrescott
, Oxfordshire
"Used on some parquet flooring several years ago and the finish is still excellent. Extremely resistant to scuffs and scratches, despite the best efforts of 3 dogs and 3 children.
As its water based brushes are easily cleaned. It does raise the grain slightly - too be expected as its water based.
Not sure about the mixed reviews - most odd.
"
Review 3 for Ronseal Diamond Hard Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
whats on the tin
11 Dec 2009
By mundo
, bromley
"exellant product,really strong smooth finish , expensive but good."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ronseal Diamond Hard Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin
29 Sep 2009
By Magnus
, Newcastle
"Excellent product. It is pricey but worth it really. Dries very quickly and gives good even cover on my oak stripwood flooring. Could possibly sand after first coat as grain is lifted quite a bit. In hindsight, leaving a slightly raised grain was probably a good idea otherwise you get an icerink effect which is funny with puppies but not with older parents. It says three coats but it worked out that I needed two tins so four coats was sensible. Probably won't have to redo it in ten years."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ronseal Diamond Hard Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Varnish
25 Apr 2012
By Sinex
, Kingston
"This stuff is the business !
Looks like a stain, but wears well like a varnish. I use the Clear Satin, which has a nice natural sheen to it.
First used 12 years ago and still wearing well, except where a chair had scraped it.
Dries fast, no odour, and brushes wash clean in water.
An expensive product, but you REALLY get what you pay for with it.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ronseal Diamond Hard Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to apply floor varnish
27 Mar 2012
By LoftyHeights
, Southampton
"Needed the varnish for some oak flooring the varnish which was used when it was made was far to soft. I applied two coats of the Ronseal Diamond Hard which was easy to apply and gave a very nice finish. This varnish does go very hard and is maintaining its finish well, after a month of use it still looks new so it does what it says on the tin."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ronseal Diamond Hard Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lasts about 2 months.
3 Sep 2012
By stingray1
, notts
"Clear satin was put down on a new stained oak floor. Within the first few days of use (1 month left to harden) scratches were apearing and I mean loads of them. The cost of this varnish and the Diamond Hard finish made me think it was going to be great but not at all. At some points it's worn away. 4 Coats were put down. My floor looks like it has been down for 30 years.
No be using again! Going to try another coat with what I have left, but i have not got much hope.
Two pack next time i think!
jim"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ronseal Diamond Hard Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointing!
5 Jul 2012
By RobsJobs
, Bedfordshire
"Having spent a lot of time and money sanding the pine floors in our Edwardian house I decided to use "the best" varnish I could find. I bought several tins of clear satin, including a tub which came with the application pad. After applying the varnish it was obvious that the stuff in the tins was actually clear gloss and not he same as the satin varnish in the tub, even though he tins were also marked "clear satin". I bought the varnish because words like Diamond Hard imply that it is going to be tough and durable. I also expected the varnish to make the surface of the floor "diamond hard". However, it was evident that, even allowing the statutory time before using the floor (8 days) the dog left claw marks and even dropping the TV remote dented the "diamond hard" varnished floor. Aagghh! Considering the price, I expected much more. The bottom line - performance seems to be no better than much cheaper varnishes and it definitely DOSE NOT do what it says on the tin."
Review 9 for Ronseal Diamond Hard Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish.
9 Jul 2013
By RobboTheJobbo
, Mirfield
"At forty quid a tin I was expecting better. "Diamond Hard" my rear end, it's not hard and it doesn't last. Follow the instructions to the letter and it still marks and wears off in no time at all.
Having said that it does make a great finish for doors, architrave and skirting, but floors? No."
Review 10 for Ronseal Diamond Hard Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bad batch?
6 Jun 2013
By DIYcaretaker
, West Midlands
"Sending sample back to Ronseal - I did what it said to do on the tin and the result is not Diamond Hard - I can mark the surface with a fingernail. Always happy to accept operator error but this time that's unlikely ."
Review 11 for Ronseal Diamond Hard Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Avoid like the plague
7 Nov 2012
By Mike57
, Dorset
"I used this on an oak-strip floor. Within days tiny flakes of all 3 layers of the varnish were breaking away from the floor.
I contacted Ronseal. They told me I had let the first coat of varnish dry TOO LONG before applying the 2nd coat. I had left it overnight - the instructions on the tin say to allow 2 hours before the 2nd coat, but don't give any warning that if you leave it for a few hours longer you'll risk ruining the whole project.
All Ronseal will suggest now is to re-sand and re-varnish the entire floor. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!"