Product Reviews

Sparky 240V Diamond Core Drill

Sparky 240V Diamond Core Drill
Average Customer Rating:
2 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
8
4 of 13(31%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Sparky BBK 1100E 1100W Core Drill & Accessories 240V
Review 1 for Sparky BBK 1100E 1100W Core Drill & Accessories 240V
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Awesome power
12 Jan 2016
By
, Chessington
" Looking at some of the other reviews, I m glad I didnt read these before buying this machine to do the tasks I needed.
The job ended up with more coring to be done than first expected and this machine certainly didn t proove to be a let down in any way.
I t is really powerfull for such a light and compact machine and I found it is capable of drilling much bigger holes than it is rated for ( I am normally bad at abusing stuff, but hey, a job s a job to be done).
Glad it has the safety mechanism also because it can nearly break your arm off with that tourque it s got , which caught me out once or twice "
Review 2 for Sparky BBK 1100E 1100W Core Drill & Accessories 240V
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sparky core drill
16 Sep 2013
By
, Bradford
" Bought for £139.99 18 months ago, I see they have gone up now but also so has the Makita.
There seems to be a lot of moaning about the clutch slipping, in my experience it only slips when the drill is moved from side to side when coring and the side of the bit bites into the wall. Keep it straight and steady and ease your way through and you'd be fine, as soon as the drill sounds as if its struggling ease off and clear the debris. Dont just force it through and then moan when the safety clutch kicks in.
I'm happy with mine at the price I paid,,,would I pay the current price? Maybe, maybe not but it does what it says and is much higher RPM than my Bosch 800w SDS. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sparky BBK 1100E 1100W Core Drill & Accessories 240V
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job well
5 Sep 2009
By
, Highlands
" Surprised such a compact drill can be used to drill 110mm holes through 18" sandstone walls with such ease. My old drill was twice as heavy. "
Review 4 for Sparky BBK 1100E 1100W Core Drill & Accessories 240V
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Thinking of returning drill
2 Nov 2015
By
, Berkshire
" The actual core drill does the job with easy and is a good buy for the price if you only have an occasional need to use it. Having uses the drill twice I have two issue with it and am now considering returning the drill.
1. Speed pre-selection dial, gets stuck and is very difficult to turn. I can easily see this getting stuck and breaking.
2. 2nd support handle, in hammer mode the handle slowly walks around the drill and you have to keep stopping and repositioning the handle.
Other wise its a good bit of kit. "
Review 5 for Sparky BBK 1100E 1100W Core Drill & Accessories 240V
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
spend the money buy a good one
1 Feb 2014
By
, walsall
" first one jammed in hammer replaced second one clutch slips even with 50mm diamond core drill thrown in cupboard. shall purchase a dewalt silver bullet when they come back into stock "
Review 6 for Sparky BBK 1100E 1100W Core Drill & Accessories 240V
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sparky disposable tools
28 Mar 2015
By
, Aldershot
" I have over 30 years of experience working of working with power tools and I'm always willing to try new products. When impact drivers were quite new and relatively expensive I bought a 12v Sparky and it seemed rather good for the money, so I thought I would invest in Sparky core drill rather than wreck my decent Bosch SDS.
On taking it out of the box the front handle was already rusting and the paint was starting to peel but I didn't let it put me off as tools soon get marked in use. At first all seemed well, but after drilling couple of difficult holes through damp brickwork (which inevitably causes the bit to jam and the clutch to kick in) the clutch started to slip now and again in normal drilling. As time has gone on the clutch slips all the time even in small holes through dry brick. Although the drill seems robust the internals are obviously week and the bearing has obviously scored the cam plate on the clutch mechanism (I should have taken more notice of the quality of the front handle, the drill is now pretty much useless).
The batteries on the impact driver died in time (about average number of recharges) but it has proven almost impossible to get replacements. The Sparky website doesn't sell them and refers you back to its uk stockist, being Screwfix, who also doesn't stock them.
The moral of the story being "buy cheap and you buy twice", save your money and buy a decent brand. They last longer, do a better job and you can get replacement parts.
"
8 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sparky BBK 1100E 1100W Core Drill & Accessories 240V
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not fit for purpose
6 Mar 2015
By
, Worcester
" A very poor performer. In my opinion this drill is really not fit for purpose. "
Review 8 for Sparky BBK 1100E 1100W Core Drill & Accessories 240V
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not a core drill
6 Jun 2013
By
, London
" The Sparky had a key chuck that repeatedly kept unlocking itself. Most core drills have SDS chucks. "
Review 9 for Sparky BBK 1100E 1100W Core Drill & Accessories 240V
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not worth considering
7 Jan 2013
By
, Wiltshire
" The clutch is weak and mine gave up within a year, also the handle snapped whilst drilling a 4 inch core. Not worth the hassle, the only good feature was the reverse. "
Review 10 for Sparky BBK 1100E 1100W Core Drill & Accessories 240V
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
poor drill
10 Aug 2012
By
, Bewdley
" clutch weak and gearbox failed just after 12 months.Put your money towards a better make. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sparky BBK 1100E 1100W Core Drill & Accessories 240V
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't bother
26 Jul 2012
By
, London
" Clutch too weak what a waste of money .I will try and get my money back . "
Review 12 for Sparky BBK 1100E 1100W Core Drill & Accessories 240V
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't Buy It!!!
24 Apr 2012
By
, Wallasey
" I drilled 2 core's with this drill, a 52mm & 107mm, in both cases the clutch cut in way too early, it was that bad when the clutch cut in it rattled the chuck loose every time. I normally use a sds drill for core drilling, it is much better than this cheap junk. Beware buyer. "
Review 13 for Sparky BBK 1100E 1100W Core Drill & Accessories 240V
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality Poor
5 Feb 2011
By
, Isle of Wight
" Purchased this item for core drilling air vents, pipe runs etc. Used it for the 1st time - heavy vibration, causing arm ache, pilot drill kept coming loose - nearly lost the pilot drill in between the wall cavity twice ! Am arranging a refund - Looks like the old saying of you get what you pay for! "